found ~ flow ~ flux launched into the world

It’s just over a week since I launched the found text poetry booklet found ~ flow ~ flux into the world. This was the culmination of my project, which was commissioned earlier this year by Wandsworth Council. Held in the same room where I’d run the workshops back in June, the launch was such a joyous occasion that I forgot to take any photos once people started to arrive. Almost everyone who contributed to the booklet came along, as well as friends, partners and some interested locals.

Once everyone was settled with a drink and a copy of the booklet, the readings got underway. I started by reading Kurt Schwitters’ 1942 poem London Symphony, which I’d used in the workshop as an example of a found text poem, followed by my first poem in the booklet. Then one by one I introduced the contributors, who read their wonderful poems to an appreciative audience. It was great to hear these poems that I had only read on the page; and very special to know that for many, this was their first published poem, indeed their very first poem!

Time then for more mingling, nibbling, sipping and celebrating. I’m very proud of the booklet and delighted with the feedback I received, both for the workshops and the booklet itself. See below for some quotes. I do though feel I missed a trick by not describing the event as a flaunch – the found ~ flow flux flaunch. Or maybe not…

Hilaire, dressed in black and smiling, stands in front of a wall to which A3 sheets of paper covered in hand written words and phrases are attached. She is holding a copy of the found ~ flow ~ flux booklet.
proud poet and editor, with a wall of found texts
A long table in front of the wall that has A3 sheets of paper attached to it. On the righthand side of the table various snacks are set out, including groans, crisps, strawberries, bread sticks, crackers, carrot and celery sticks, humous and guacamole. On the lefthand side are three piles of found ~ flow ~ flux booklets, behind them other poetry booklets are displayed.
Poetry booklets and refreshments

It truly is a wonderful snapshot of Nine Elms – a wonderful piece of history.

I did really enjoy [the workshop] and do feel inspired to repeat this in local neighbourhoods in Battersea

engaging & supportive workshop leader

The workshop I went to was excellent in conception & delivery.

6 thoughts on “found ~ flow ~ flux launched into the world

  1. Pingback: busy as a Battersea bee – hilaire

  2. Pingback: a year since found ~ flow ~ flux was launched – Hilaire

Leave a comment