birdwatching in Battersea

The plane trees outside my window are still bare. But they are visited regularly by a pair of birds I think I have successfully identified as magpies. I’ve checked both my Michelin I-Spy Birds book and Hamlyn nature guides’ Birds. The latter describes the magpie’s call as a hard, rapid rattling ‘sha-sha-sha-shak’. I’ve heard this sound off and on, in between the trains, planes and refuse collections, and wondered what creature or machine was making it.

Now I’ve matched up the sound with the two handsome black and white birds that glide in, alight on a thin branch, hop around, sometimes seem to stare back at me, and then gracefully take wing and flit off elsewhere. Long tail feathers. Black that is shot through with petrol blue and emerald. Yes, these appear to be European magpies. Australian magpies are different, you see. It’s only taken me twenty odd years to realise that.

Bird books
novice urban twitcher’s essential reading

Recently, I’ve noticed one or other bird fly in, rummage about among the leafless branches, and then fly off with a long twig in its beak. After a fleeting stopover on the roof of the nearby Chinese noodle restaurant, our fearless magpie reaches its destination in the high branches of a mature plane tree whose roots are breaking up the brick paving outside my block. It didn’t take me too long – certainly less than twenty years – to twig that this pair of magpies is building a nest. I’m very excited for them. This is one housing development n Battersea that I have no objection to.

P1050510
The Nest, Battersea
3 thoughts on “birdwatching in Battersea

    1. Thanks for the link, Peter. Growing up in Australia, I didn’t absorb this superstition about magpies, but I’m happy to say it’s usually two I spy from my window.

Leave a Reply

