excuse me

Where have the last three weeks gone? (I could as well ask the same of the last six months…) I’m just about treading water. No new writing but I have submitted to a poetry pamphlet competition, and heard last week that I’ve had a short story accepted for Wet Ink magazine in Australia. Gold star for me. June 18th I ventured into Soho for a rare Monday night out, upstairs at Ronnie Scotts, to catch ace poet Joolz Sparkes perform three angry, defiant poems to an attentive crowd. Joolz held her own against the evening’s varied (sometimes meandering) musical offerings. Another literary night out on Wednesday 20th, to the Betsey Trotwood for the launch of The Best British Short Stories 2012 edited by Nicholas Royle and published by Salt. Six of the writers read a short extract each from their story, all very different and quite whetted my appetite for the anthology as a whole. Of the readings, the standout for me was Alison MacLeod reading from The Heart of Denis Noble – beautifully pitched. A thoroughly convivial evening, despite a raging sore throat, which had crept up on me during the day. Ten days later, and I’m still feeling under the weather, and just a little bit bored with sounding like a bronchial donkey. But that didn’t stop us travelling down to Devon last weekend for a long overdue visit to a friend in Newton Abbot. Between downpours, we managed a yomp in Stover Country Park with said friend and his two labradors. As soon as they were off the lead, the dogs tore about, chasing each other, scrabbling about in the undergrowth, and plunging into the full flowing stream at every opportunity. Canine joie de vivre is a great tonic.

So, farewell June – here’s to a healthy, swimmingly creative July!

One thought on “excuse me

  1. Pingback: a piquant selection « hilaire

Leave a Reply

